Students bring home awards from third annual speech competition

By on April 11, 2012

Six UAB students competed for the top prize in a speech competition held by the Department of Communication Studies. This competition is now in its third year and “has become the top event for the basic course,” says Dr. Cecil Betros, Basic Course Director.

The competition began with fifteen undergraduate students who took CM 101, Introduction to Public Speaking, in the fall and are currently enrolled at UAB. Speakers were nominated by their classmates to compete in the preliminary round held Tuesday, March 27.

Judges then narrowed the participants to the six highest-ranking speakers. These finalists then competed for a scholarship prize.

Dr. Betros said the scores were very tight among all six finalists. From the rigorous competition four contestants come to the forefront. First place went to Christopher Hanna (scholarship $500), second place went to Chandni Patel (scholarship $300) and a tie for third place went to Seth Bynum and Ashley Atkins (scholarship $200 each). Other finalists included Alicja Foksinka and Diana Padilla-Guevara.

Our judges for the preliminary round were Richard Henderson and Janice Ward. UAB’s faculty judges for the final round were Dr. Mark Hickson, Dr. Jonathan Amsbary, Dr. Virginia Richmond and Amy Kilpatrick from UAB’s Student Life staff.

The competition was sponsored by Pearson Education, Cengage Learning, the Department of Communication Studies, and the Katherine Cramer Morgan endowment.

Many thanks to Graduate Teaching Assistants RJ Varner, Jacob Nance, Margaret Jones and Matthew Morse, who organized this entire event.

UAB News

Related Posts:


%d bloggers like this: