‘Eureka! We found the answer’

By on April 30, 2013

UAB undergraduate students pose their research topics for competition

The sixth annual UAB Exposition of Excellence was held Friday morning, April 26, 2013 at the Campus Recreation Center.

UAB hosted the sixth annual Exposition of Excellence for undergraduate research. UAB News

UAB hosted the sixth annual Exposition of Excellence for undergraduate research.
UAB News

In 2012, nearly 200 undergraduates participated in the student-planned and led event. The event saw a strong 33 percent increase in submissions from last year.

Students from all across campus assembled to present their research and participate in a forum for cutting edge research topics. Students presented either poster or oral presentations at the UAB Campus Recreation Center.

Topics ranged from traditional sciences, such as cell biology to engineering and service learning projects. In particular, the service learning section saw an explosive increase in the number of submissions. Judging was done by both graduate students and UAB faculty.

Dr. Cynthia Ryan, an English professor at UAB, was featured as the keynote speaker. Ryan delivered a wonderful talk on the art behind communicating the ideas fostered by research at Heritage Hall at 11a.m.

Dr. Linda Lucas also partook in the EXPO closing ceremony by awarding several faculty members awards for their leadership and excellence in areas, such as undergraduate research, study away, and service learning.

Drs. Elizabeth Sztul and Michelle Olsen, both of whom work in the McCallum Basic Sciences Building, took away the awards for excellence in mentorship to undergraduate research. Among other awardees was Dr. McClintock for his research trips to Antarctica.

The spotlight of the EXPO, however, fell on the students themselves.

“Everyone [is] a winner in my book,” said Nick Bieser.

Bieser presented awards to particularly outstanding performances this year. Students from various backgrounds, including honors and non-honors students, took home awards.

Among these winners were Alan Akira (Science & Technology Honors Program) and Cassandra Garbutt (University Honors Program), both of whom walked away with first place awards in their respective sections.

Bliss Chang
Staff Writer

Related Posts:

About UABkscope.com

%d bloggers like this: